Oshins and Others Inducted into NAEPC Estate Planning Hall of Fame

The National Association of Estate Planners & Councils (NAEPC) held its 48th Annual Conference at the San Antonio Marriot Rivercenter from November 16th through 18th. As a part of the conference, NAEPC held its annual Estate Planning Hall of Fame® induction ceremony.

The award is given in recognition of distinguished service to the field of estate planning. The honor has been awarded on an annual basis beginning with the Annual Conference in November 2004.

The Estate Planning Hall of Fame®, Class of 2011 consisted of six honorees – Steven J. Oshins, Samuel A. Donaldson, Curtis B. Ford, L. Henry Gissel, Jr., Miles W. McNally and Lloyd Leva Plaine. There are now 66 recipients of this prestigious honor.

The Trust Advisor sought some comments from award recipient Steve Oshins who shared the credit with the rest of the employees at his law firm. According to Oshins, “[t]here is no doubt that I would never have received this honor, especially so early in my career, without the help of all of the employees at the Law Offices of Oshins & Associates.”

Oshins further noted that he was especially proud that he and his father, Richard A. Oshins (Class of 2007), have become the first parent/child honorees in the NAEPC Estate Planning Hall of Fame®.

And, now, the Estate Planning Hall of Fame®, Class of 2011…

*Steven J. Oshins is an estate planning and asset protection attorney at Oshins & Associates, LLC in Las Vegas, Nevada. He is listed in The Best Lawyers in America® and has been named one of the Top 100 Attorneys by Worth Magazine. He has been very active in writing many of Nevada’s trust and creditor protection laws which have made Nevada a Tier 1 jurisdiction. He has a national practice and is frequently quoted by the media.

*Samuel A. Donaldson is an Associate Professor and Director of the Graduate Program in Taxation at the University of Washington School of Law in Seattle, Washington. He teaches a number of tax and estate planning courses as well as those in the areas of commercial law and professional responsibility. He is a three-time recipient of the Philip A. Trautman Professor of the Year award from the Student Bar Association.

*Curtis B. Ford joined Northwestern Mutual as an agent in Tampa, Florida and then, in 1965, served as Agency Supervisor and Home Office Officer. In 1970, he was named General Agent in San Francisco specializing in insurance tax planning for family businesses. He also was awarded the CLU® and ChFC® designations awarded and administered by The American College. He has held all the offices of the national Society of Financial Service Professionals including national president in 1995-96.

*L. Henry Gissel, Jr. began his legal career at Fulbright & Jaworski L.L.P. in Houston, Texas, where he practiced law for 43 years before retiring as Senior Partner. During his tenure there he also served as chairman (or co-chairman) of the Trusts and Estates Department from 1977 to 1997. Mr. Gissel is a board-certified attorney in Estate Planning and Probate Law by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization. He now serves as a consultant to Wilmington Trust Company of Wilmington, Delaware.

*Miles W. McNally served as a first lieutenant during World War II. After the war, he began his career selling insurance. He was a trusted financial advisor to many companies, individuals and non-profit organizations during his 50-plus years as an insurance agent with Mass Mutual Life Insurance Company. He also served as president of the Society of Financial Service Professionals from 1970 – 71 and as president of the Million Dollar Round Table (MDRT) Foundation.

*Lloyd Leva Plaine joined the law firm of Sutherland Asbill & Brennan LLP in 1975 as an associate and was elected to partnership in 1982. The peer review publication “Best Lawyers” named her Washington’s top trusts and estates lawyer for 2010, and she was named to the The Best Lawyers in America® list for trusts and estates consecutively for 16 years.

At the conference, NAEPC also awarded its Hartman Axley Lifetime Service Award. This award was created in 2004 to honor those outstanding individuals who have been highly active in the estate planning community and exemplary in their service to NAEPC. The 2011 recipient of the Hartman Axley Lifetime Service Award was John “Jack” Rittenhouse, Jr.

*John W. Rittenhouse, Jr. entered the life insurance business in 1965 with New York Life. He was a Director (1996-2000), Secretary (2001), Vice President (2002), President (2003), Immediate Past President (2004) and then a Director Emeritus (2005-2009) of NAEPC. He received the ChFC® designation from the American College in 1995 and the AEP® designation from NAEPC in 2002.




More Articles